Chocolate Milk Recovery Drink Test

Posted on July 17, 2011

0



OK – over the past several months I’ve read lots of articles and looked at several studies online touting chocolate milk as a good recovery drink.  I KNOW – chocolate milk! Sunuvabitch – this is gonna be FUN!  Basically the folks who stand behind it do so because fat free chocolate milk has a 4:1 carb to protein ratio, which they say is optimal for re-fueling your body after a grueling workout.  I like to do a little research before I dive into something, and found this article which takes a scientific standpoint that says it’s not all it’s cracked up to be…. this study seems to think it’s a good idea…. then there’s this one which is a bit more balanced and at least gives pros and cons. The more I read, the more it seems that chocolate milk would be a good recovery drink for endurance-type training as opposed to muscle-building.

Well, studies don’t really mean crap to me until I see how something affects my personal situation, so for the past couple of weeks I’ve been using chocolate milk as a “recovery” drink after my P90X resistance workouts. As you can see in the photo, I add a little extra Glutamine, a small amount of whey protein and about 2 grams of Creatine (which probably should be more, but I’m easing into this since I’m not big on all this supplement junk.) Anyway, I’ve gotta say that over the past 2 weeks of P90X training, my muscle soreness doesn’t seem to be NEAR what I thought it would be a day or two after my workouts. I’m still sore – hell, I’m putting everything I’ve got into the workouts – but the soreness usually doesn’t last more than a day.  Of course, this could be due to the fact that I’m in better shape starting P90X now than I was 2 years ago when I attempted it after melding with my couch for years beforehand. So, does it work or not?

My next step in this testing process will be to stop taking my chocolate milk “recovery” drink after my workouts for a couple weeks, and see how this affects my soreness and recovery, if at all. If I’m writhing on the floor in agony days after my workouts, then maybe there’s something to this.  If there’s no change, the drink is history. But I gotta say the mix of ingredients above tastes DAMN GOOD!  I’ll post my final “findings” in a few weeks.

Posted in: Excercise, Nutrition