[Food] Eggs & Oatmeal – The Breakfast Standard

Posted on October 2, 2011

0



Thought I’d share a quick shot of one of my breakfast standards from the past 7 months – been eating this through Power 90 and P90X Round 1 – quick, easy and it gets the job done!

The bodybuilding standard: Eggs & Oatmeal!

Scrambled egg whites cooked in 1 tsp. olive oil (actually made omelet-style then cut up and mixed with the other ingredients)
Lean ham steak, diced, 3-5 oz. depending on how much protein you need
cayenne pepper to taste

Plain Quaker oatmeal, 1/2 cup, with cinnamon to taste (mixed with water)
1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Love this meal. The cayenne *really* keeps those sinuses clear, especially during allergy season(!)  Seriously – in the past I’ve been prone to sinus infections that turn into chest colds and worse. I haven’t had a sinus infection in over 2 years, and based on my experience I attribute a lot of that good fortune to using cayenne almost every day on my eggs or in other meals.

Once in a while I’ll add in 1-2 whole eggs to the main dish (yolks aren’t the baddies they’re made out to be gang) and maybe switch out the ham for diced chicken or ground turkey or beef, which keeps it interesting.

Posted in: Nutrition