P90X Week 9: Uncoordinated Progress?!

Posted on September 10, 2011

0



Y’know, things have been going pretty well so far in my first round of P90X. But that doesn’t mean it’s all perfect. So today I wanna focus on a few of the things about the program that still make me look like a floundering idiot, even this late in the game.

I'm not a crane. I'm a human.

1. YOGA X: THE CRANE POSE.
I’ve seen a lotta videos on Youtube of people who were doing this yoga-move-from-the-bowels-of-hell as early as Week 3! Well, it’s Week 9 for me, and it’s still a bitch. Seriously – WHEN will I use this in real life? But I feel like I’ve GOT to get this thing down – I just KNOW one day my boss is gonna come into my studio and say “Randy, I know you can produce some great commercial audio, but… (long pause)… can you do the CRANE POSE?” Aaaaaarrrrgggghhhh!

2. AB RIPPER X: REVERSE BICYCLE.
Moving forward on a bike, I’m great at. Ask me to REVERSE the process, and I flop all over the floor like a fish on a hardwood deck. My legs are thrusting out to the left, the right, up at an angle… anywhere BUT in a straight plane. WHY is this so difficult for me? I don’t know. But again, I don’t think I’ll be riding a bike backwards anytime soon, so I’m trying not to feel too bad about it.

3. KENPO X: FRONT & BACK KNUCKLES-BALL KICK-BACK KICK
Admittedly, I’ve gotten LOTS better at this one, but for the longest time it was a thorn in my ass. I finally had to repeat to myself “KNUCKLES LOOK BACK, FRONT KICK, BACK KICK” over and over so I’d remember what the hell to do.

There are a few other moves – especially in Yoga X – that still burn my bottom, but I’m getting more coordinated each time I do them.

I think by Round 25 I’ll have it all down pretty well. ‘Course by that time “P90X 7″ will be out and I’ll feel uncoordinated all over again. Oh wait – I have P90X PLUS now, so I can re-capture that inferior feeling a lot sooner than I thought!

Gotta add on here that I’m lovin’ the new Beachbody Chinup Max device – I do as much as I can with my own bodyweight, and when I can’t do any more, I use this thing to crank out a few extra “assisted” reps and get a nice double burn!

No major changes in my bodyfat and weight measurements this morning, but I dropped another 1/8″ off the waist. My body might be getting used to the “1500 calorie, 50-30-20″ Fat Shredder Plan that I’ve been using, but I’m gonna give it another week and then change the ratios and maybe up the calories slightly if I need to. Cant believe Week 9 is history! I can’t WAIT to see my results after another round or two of this craziness…

Posted in: Excercise, Nutrition